Random Thoughts on a Monday Morning

16 07 2012

I really need to get back into the groove of blogging more because I’m always coming up with ideas for blogs. But then time or just plain laziness gets in the way and I don’t write them. Then I realize that I haven’t blogged in awhile and that now I have 10 things to say and so I put them all in a “Random Thoughts” blog. *sigh*

  • Well, there’s lots going on in my life these days. I’m THIS CLOSE to finally getting a California address. I got my first housing offer last week but I declined it because the unit didn’t have an oven. As much as I love to cook, it would really bite not having an oven. I inquired about another unit and I’m waiting now to see if it’s available. Hopefully I’ll know something by the end of the day today.
  • August can’t get here fast enough! Ugh!! I’m so tired of living out of boxes and suitcases. My summer started in the beginning of May so it’s been about 3 months now and I’m ready for some action! I’m cherishing these moments with my fam in ATL but looking forward to leaving here in 2 weeks to begin the next part of my journey.
  • One thing that stinks about being in transition is not really having community or having a church. I’ve been getting together with friends here and there, but it’s not quite the same as weekly fellowship. The past couple weeks I’ve been able to visit Blueprint Church. What a blessing! It’s good to be back and see all the growth that has happened there and to see everyone again, since I hadn’t visited there in the two years since I’ve been in DC. It’s amazing how much I missed out when I was there at Blueprint because I was working so much or because spiritually my head just wasn’t in the game. It was a blessing to see that the church has grown even more in its diversity since I’ve been gone. Dhati, the pastor there, recommended a church for me in Pasadena that just happens to be on my list of churches to check out once I get to California. From what I can see online, that church looks like it’s pretty diverse too. We’ll see what happens but I’m really looking forward to the process of finding a new church.
  • That being said, I really miss my Restoration family. I’ve been getting texts and FB messages from people saying they miss me or they’re praying for me. It’s just nice to know that you’re thought about even when you’re not around. Sometimes it’s hard to wrap my brain around the fact that I no longer live in DC. Just a few weeks ago I was sitting in the Free’s living room having small group. And now I have no small group.
  • I’ve been reading this book called “Pursuing Christ, Creating Art” by Gary Molander, and it’s been blessing my socks off. I really have to write a blog post about this book, but two quotes that stood out to me: “Being an artist is a heart condition, not a job” and “Christian artists don’t need to create art for God. They need to create art in response to God. The artist’s work is a creative work of response, not a laborious work of initiation.” Mmmm…yeah. Chew on that while I craft that blog post.

That’s all for now. I’ve got a busy week ahead. I’ve only been here in ATL for two weeks and somehow I’ve managed to have an editing gig for the next couple of weeks so it’s off to work I go. It’s great because I sure could use the money! Haha!

Until next time…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

