Road Trip Day 4: Misleading Marketing & Little Graces

14 08 2012

I know, I know. I never posted a Road Trip Day 1-3…but some days it was hard to get an internet connection. Other days I was just too tired to post. So sue me…you try driving across the country. Anwho, I just wanted to give you all a little glimpse as to what has been going on the past few days…

  • So far the trip has been absolutely amazing! I think everybody should do a cross-country road trip at least once in their lives. Our country is beautiful!
  • Day 1 we stayed in Amarillo, TX. Whoever does Amarillo’s marketing cop should get an award. According to their website, there was so much to see and do there, which is why I thought it would be a great place to stop. Boy, was I wrong. The so-called Historic Route 66 that was supposed to have all these great eateries and antique shops was a #fail. It was only a couple blocks of old, run-down stores and less than a handful of restaurants. The infamous Cadillac Ranch which, according to the website, was this grand display of art along Route 66 when actually it was about 5 or 6 Cadillac halves lined up in the middle of a desolate field. Maybe it’s just me but I wasn’t that impressed. I guess I was just expecting more. The hotel we stayed at in Amarillo was wonderful though! 🙂 I highly recommend the Sleep Inn on Route I-40.
  • Day 2 we stayed in Albuqurque, NM. All I can say is Wow. Driving through New Mexico was gorgeous with all of the mountains and hills. Our hotel was right in the middle of the mountains and our room itself was great. It was also right across the street from a great mall and eatery so we couldn’t have asked for a better stay.
  • Day 3 we headed to Williams, AZ so that we could see the Grand Canyon. The drive through Arizona was less than exciting. It rained most of the time, and there was nothing but flat, dry grass a majority of the way up the road.
  • But things changed once we get around the Williams area. Here is where we really saw the glory of God in so many small and large ways. Our plan was to check in to the hotel and then take the hour drive up to see the canyon just before sunset. But as we drove through AZ it started raining so we decided that if it were raining when we got to the hotel, we would just drive to the canyon in the morning before we head to LA. We arrived in Williams — the cutest little town on Route 66 about 60 miles south of the canyon. Our hotel looked a little sketch from the outside but once we got inside, we fell in love with it’s charm! The people were so nice and as we settled in our room, the sun came out so we decided to stick with our original plan and drive to the canyon that day rather than wait until the morning.
  • When we got to the entrance of the canyon, we found out that lightning had struck their payment machines so they were only accepting cash to get in the park. We didn’t have a whole lot of cash on us, but between the two of us we were able to scrape and find $25 in cash and coins by the time we got up to the booth. We literally used every last dime we had just to get into the park! Haha! As soon as we drove through the entrance, it started raining. Great. But we had already paid our money so we were determined. We made our way to the parking lot and started walking toward the Visitor Center and Mather Point. Words cannot describe the beauty and magnitude of what we saw when we got to Mather Point. I’ll just post the pictures so you can see…The more we stood out there the more the sun began to peek out and before we knew it, we looked up and there was a giant rainbow spanning across the Grand Canyon. Whoa. Talk about seeing the glory of God.
  • It was starting to get dark so we made our way back down the hill toward our hotel. We found out that the little town of Williams, AZ is jumping after dark! Restaurants and bars and shops were open as people walked the streets enjoying the night air. It reminded me what I thought we would experience in Amarillo, TX. If you ever take a trip to the Grand Canyon, I highly recommend that you stay in Williams and stay at the Rodeway Inn & Suites.
  • And so now here we are. It’s Tuesday, the last leg of our trip. In just a few hours I will be at my new home in California. I tried to get a good night’s sleep last night but I kept waking up because my stomach is doing somersaults from all the excitement. From what I can see it looks like it’s a gorgeous day outside so hopefully this will be a nice drive. We’re getting ourselves together to go have breakfast and then head out.
  • I’m really worried that I won’t like my new apartment, so please pray that my new home will match the awesomeness that I have experienced on this road trip. 🙂 But most importantly, please pray for safe travels as we continue on our journey.
  • Homeward bound! Next stop–Pasadena, CA!

Here are some pics from our stay in Williams, AZ and the Grand Canyon:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Actions

Information

One response

18 08 2012
Kim

Have a safe trip! You should be in Callie by now! Miss you both!

Leave a Reply

