Finding Where I Fit In

9 09 2012

Lemme start off by giving a shout out to LA for being the most confusing city to drive in, even worse than DC! YAY!! Ok I’m kidding. About the being worse than DC part, but not the part about LA being confusing. Every time I think I have this place figured out I manage to get myself lost and discover that I’m just as lost as I ever was. That’s what happened to me this morning as I tried to visit another church and ended up being a whole 30 minutes late in the process. Aw well, at least I made it.

Well, it has officially been one week since I have been here in Cali on my own. I have had friends and family in town since I got here so I haven’t really had a chance to take it all in on my own. I had my first night of feeling lonely in LA this past Wednesday. I looked around and realized that no one else was in my apartment but me and that I couldn’t call any of my friends back home because most of them live on the east coast and by that time it was already well after midnight. But it’s all good. Nothing that a little Netflix couldn’t temporarily fix. And I’m thankful that I do actually have some friends out here so yeah, that loneliness was short lived.

So now that I’m settling into life out here, not as a tourist but as a resident, I’m looking deeper into why I’m here and ways that God can use me in this town. As I sit here on the Santa Monica beach, I know that California has so many beautiful things about it–the mountains, the beaches, the flash. If we’re not careful we can get to the point where we start to glorify this place and elevate it to something that it’s not. Although the weather is beautiful in LA, it is not paradise. Far from it. Behind the fancy hotels and palm trees there are girls being prostituted. There is a LOT of homelessness. And there are tons of artists out here suffering from depression and disappointment from unreached dreams.

Today at the church I visited, the pastor talked about how we as Christians can go about bringing change to the culture. He asked four questions that I’ll be mulling over the rest of this week:

1) What story is your industry telling about what is wrong with the world and how to change it?

2) What is broken in that story?

3) How can you be used in a redemptive way in your industry?

and

4) What would it look like to be God’s agent for renewal?

These are great questions. My prayer today is that I will let these questions guide me during my time here to make sure I don’t get swept away by the palm trees and cool breeze. I want to figure out where I can serve here. Lord knows there are plenty of needs. What about you? How would you answer those questions?

20120909-162125.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

