Bountiful Beach Blessings

16 09 2012

Today was an interesting day. I woke up this morning feeling a little blue and a little homesick. It’s been hard getting in touch with my friends on the east coast because of the time difference, the Food Truck Festival was in Atlanta today, I was missing my family, AND it was HOT in my apartment and I have no air condition!

But later on in the day a bunch of Fuller students went down to Huntington Beach for a day of fun in the sun and later a bonfire to celebrate the beginning of a new school year. First of all, let me just say once again that the beach has become my new favorite hang-out. I seriously think I’m becoming a beach bum. I’ve been to about 7 different beaches just in the one month since I’ve been here. I love the sound of the water, I love the feeling of the sand, and overall it’s just a very peaceful place for me . I want to try and make it a point to get to the beach as often as I can if for no other reason than to just clear my head and spend some time with God. Ok but back to Huntington Beach…

We had lots of great food and fellowship. I got to meet some really cool people who are starting their second years and they gave me a lot of great insight into life at Fuller. At one point we found out that there was a Christian group from Biola University as well as a local church group sitting right next to us. We all joined voices and sang worship songs together there on the beach. It was an awesome experience, so much that I teared up a bit, just reflecting on the goodness of God.

Sometimes it seems surreal that I am here. Not only because I have been praying for this moment for years, but also the fact that I get to be here at Fuller with all these great people. And it’s surreal that Fuller just happens to be located in California, accessibly close to the beach. I still feel a bit homesick but what a blessing it is to be here during this time of my life! I hope to gain all I can from this experience and meet some really great people in the process.

If you all want to know how to pray for me, I am longing for community right now. I know that will come in time, but pray that God will give me patience to allow that process to run its course and to not try and force it. Please also pray that I find a church home. It’s hard out here!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

