#60Movies – Day 1: Promised Land

3 01 2013

So for the next 60 days, I’m going to challenge myself to watch one film per day, whether it’s on Netflix or in the theater. I figure we watch half as much television each day so it can’t be that bad to find 1 1/2-2 hours each day to invest in a craft that I love. I will be posting brief blurbs about each film each day and give it a rating out of 5 stars. Trust me, the blurbs will be very brief so if you want to know more detail, feel free to email me! So here goes Day 1…Enjoy!

Promised Land – A big time energy company tries to convince small-town farmers to drill on their land, only for them to discover that their pipe dreams of instant wealth does not come without cost.
My takeaway: While this is an interesting story about the damages of fracking, the themes I found compelling were about about standing up to and fighting against corporate culture to create what has meaning and value rather than a life that is defined by riches. Good performances from Matt Damon and John Krasinski. I didn’t like the ending though. Without giving it away, I give it 4 stars.
Actions

Information

2 responses

7 01 2013
June Wilson

I’m cheering you on in this 60-day adventure!

7 01 2013
azuspeak

Thanks June! 🙂

Leave a Reply

