#60Movies – Day 7: Our Song

10 01 2013

MV5BMjAwNzQ4Nzg0MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjIxNzUxMQ@@._V1._SY317_CR1,0,214,317_So today I decided to appease my longing and anticipation for “Scandal” to return by watching this film starring a very adolescent, pre-Olivia Pope, Kerri Washington. Her Bronx accent is THICK in this film. Lol!

Synopsis: Three inner-city teenage girls navigate through the pressures of their neighborhood when their school is about to close down due to asbestos. Each one of them deals with life situations in their own way, while playing in the Jackie Robinson Marching Band and making decisions about their futures along the way.

My Takeaway: This film is a throwback. It was released in 2000 but it looks very 90s, which for me is great because that was an era that deeply influenced me as a filmmaker. That was an era when there actually was still a black film aesthetic…but I digress. Our choices don’t have to be dictated by our environment. Here was three young women who, even though they did not always make the right decisions, were trying to live life in a way that would take them places. I appreciated the fact that the characters felt real to me, like people I grew up around. It’s definitely an independent film–no glitz or glam in this one. If any of you followed black independent cinema and/or were into the indie black directors of the 80s along the lines of Leslie Harris, Millicent Shelton, Mattie Rich, etc., I think you’ll dig this. This had a “Just Another Girl on the I.R.T.” kind of feel to me. It’s very much a character drama, and it moves according to the pace of everyday life. That kind of gritty realism is right up my alley, but it can get to be a little mundane in some areas, so for that I give it 3 1/2 stars.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

