Sundance Lives On…#60Movies–Day #13: There Will Come a Day

4 02 2013

So Sundance happened faster than I could blink…We saw at least 3-4 films per day, plus had forums, plus we had to eat and sleep. It was awesome but I don’t see how journalists kept up with it all! So I know I said a film a day for 60 days, but I didn’t say they would be consecutive. :-/ I’m still not giving up, but full-time seminary and working are slowing me down…

I’m going to continue to give you a little taste of Sundance by posting some of the write-ups I did for my Sundance class on the films I saw during the week. Hope you enjoy this little taste of Sundance.

________________________________________

There Will Come a Day – dir. Giorgio Diritti

What do you do when everything you have believed in is challenged? This was one of the major questions induced by this film, which is why I loved it so much. The film focuses on Augusta, a young Italian woman who loses a child while still in the womb, which sends her into a spiral of questioning the meaning of life. Initially she lives on a boat with her Aunt Franka, a nun who serves her community through bible studies and prayer. Augusta stays by her aunt’s aide and eventually decides that this life is not for her and leaves to go immerse herself in a small slum community in Brazil where she finds life again.

The sound design in this film spoke volumes, ironic because of the film’s subtle quietness. The scenes in which Augusta could be found drifting on the boat were so silent, which allowed the audience to revel in Augusta’s mourning, to focus on the suffering that had occurred in her life and to question along with her. One of my favorite moments in the film is the opening where we see a close-up shot of Augusta crying, and all we hear are her subtle cries. At this point we don’t fully understand why she is crying, but the deafening silence immediately makes us feel some sense of loss.

What was interesting to me about this film was the fact that Augusta found a certain amount of vibrancy and life once she left her Aunt Franka and the church, which left me to ponder, Is there room for “life” in the Christian faith? Jesus came to bring us abundant life but often our faith communities are lifeless and they lack authenticity. How do we as Christians process doubt? How do we process pain? What is God’s role in our lives? Is it to make us happy? For the Brazilian community in this movie, they process these emotions together in a context of community as we see them dance together, work together, and mourn together. I believe it was this sense of belonging that Augusta was looking for all along.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

