Dear Lord, Help Me to Love Christians

11 02 2013

Dear Lord, please help me to love Christians.

The ones that have become too smart for their own good.

The ones who know nothing but You.

The ones who baptize babies.

The ones who don’t.

The ones who still like worship music.

The ones who scoff at it.

The ones who believe the Flood was literal.

The ones who sing hymns.

The ones who dance.

The ones who clap their hands.

The ones who think it’s ok to swing from the rafters.

The ones who don’t.

The Calvinists.

The Arminians.

The Reformers.

The Lutherans.

The Methodists.

The Baptists.

The Pentacostals.

The ones who speak in tongues.

The ones who don’t.

The ones who are embarrassed by the cross.

The ones who tell stories when they preach.

The ones who read their prayers.

The ones who shout them.

The ones who preach sin.

The ones who preach love.

They all are my brothers and my sisters. I have been with them all. Lord, help me to walk in love with the Christians that disagree with my point of view on things. The world would love for us to choose sides and pit us against one another because of the different ways we worship. I give up. I’m tired of it. My church is not better than your church. I just want us all to walk with Jesus–together. Is that so much to ask?

“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one— I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.” John 17:20-23

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 02 2013
June

Amen. What’s funny is I have a post drafted called, “Sometimes I’m embarrassed to be a Christian.” Not embarrassed by Jesus or the Gospel or what He did on the cross or ashamed to boldly profess that I follow Christ. But embarrassed to be lumped in the same group with so many… well, nuts. From Bishop Eddie Long to Pat Robertson saying that Hurricane Katrina was God’s judgement on New Orleans. He said the same about the Earthquakes in Haiti. Then there’s the “Christian parents” who beat their son to death because he didn’t read his bible before going to bed. There’s pastors claiming to know the exact date of Christ’ return when clearly the Bible says no one knows the hour, not even the Son of Man and that His return will come when we LEAST expect it. Embarrassed by so many child molesters standing behind pulpits who are convicted more and more each year. Embarrassed by Christians who want to tell everyone in the workplace they are a Christian and quote scriptures too but then give the worse customer service I’ve ever witnessed. I could go on, but won’t. Your prayer is so fitting. Lord, help me to love ’em all. Even the ones who question my relationship with God because I don’t vote, respond or think exactly the way THEY do.

11 02 2013
azuspeak

Amen, June. Sometimes I think it’s harder to love Christians than it is to love people in the world. I feel like maybe Im slowly starting to heal from bad church experiences in the past and when I really think back on it, those people had good intentions. And while I may not like or agree with what they practice or teach, I still have to love them. They are still my brothers and sisters in Christ. Sometimes that’s easier said than done.

I’m just tired of us Christians fighting amongst ourselves about inconsequential things like whether this one sings hymns or not. I feel like there’s a lot of that in seminary. People turning up their noses because one denomination or church believes something that they don’t. It’s ridiculous. Sometimes I’m just like “do you love Jesus? Ok good. Let’s just agree to disagree and move on.”

11 02 2013
June

Sounds like you agree with the wisdom of St. Augustine who said,
“In essentials, unity; in non-essentials, liberty; in all things, charity.”

11 02 2013
shari

AMEN SISTA!!!My sentiments exactly!! I’m tired!!

Leave a Reply

