This Time Last Year…

15 08 2013

…I had just finished driving along with my best friend, Khalilah, through the California desert. It was the last leg of our cross-country road trip, which would begin my stint at Fuller Theological Seminary. I remember taking one of the exits off the 210 to get something to eat and thinking to myself “What the @#$ have I just done?!!” I had just experienced a type of heat in the desert that I never imagined before, none of the restaurants looked or sounded familiar to me, and it suddenly dawned on me that I no longer had a job, I was about to move into an apartment sight unseen, and I was almost 3,000 miles away from home and I had no family out here.

Well, as I now reflect on this past year, I can certainly say that it has been a wonderful journey. God has blessed me in so many ways…

  • I landed a great job on campus within a month of being here, and it has afforded me the opportunity to meet and work with some great people and learn more about my school in the process
  • I made some great friends who have affirmed me, challenged me and helped me see God in many places and way I didn’t expect.
  • I became part of a life-changing program through the Theology and Arts concentration, which has re-affirmed my love for God and film.
  • I found a great small group.
  • I landed another teaching job, allowing me to pour into college film students again, which is something I love to do.
  • I experienced California sunsets and Zuma Beach! 🙂
  • My appreciation for the AME church was re-kindled and I found a church home at First AME-Pasadena.
  • I reclaimed my voice as an artist, and found an outlet for that voice through Reel Spirituality, the Brehm Center, and all the various opportunities and relationships that God keeps sending my way.

I could go on and on. It hasn’t been without its own set of struggles, but overall it has been an amazing year and I’m so thankful. You’ve been good to me so far, California! Here’s to hoping we have a few more good years together…

20130815-164110.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

